We use cookies to operate this website and to improve its usability. Full details of what cookies are, why we use them and how you can manage them can be found by reading our Privacy & Cookies pages. Please note that by using this site you are consenting to the use of cookies.


2017 Sommelier Wine Awards judges

Each year, we are delighted to be able to call on some of the finest on-trade talent in the UK to judge at the Sommelier Wine Awards.

To be a SWA judge, you need to be an experienced taster and to work in the on-trade, whether on the restaurant floor, in a buying role, as a consultant, or in developing wine lists.

If you would like to be considered as a judge for the next SWA competition, please email our competition manager Micaela Martins Ferreira with details of your experience, and she will be in touch.

Below is a full list of our 2017 judges. See here for our Team Leaders, and here for a selection of our senior judges.

As always, our thanks go out to all our judges who give so generously of their time to make the Sommelier Wine Awards the unique, on-trade focused competition that it is.


Head of judging

Christine Parkinson, Hakkasan Group

Assistant Gold List Coordinator

Christopher Cooper - Drinkonomics

Team leaders

Tom Forrest - Independent
Sam Caporn MW - The Mistress of Wine
Laura Rhys MS - Gusbourne Estate
Angela Reddin - Wine Consultant
Olivier Marie -Genesis Wine
Laurent Richet MS - Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms
Annette Scarfe MW - Wine Consultant
Sarah Jane Evans MW - Wine Writer
Martin Lam - Wine Consultant
Jade Koch - Wine Consultant
Lionel Periner - Adam's Restaurant
Simon Woods - Presenter, consultant & writer, simonwoods.com
Andrea Briccarello - Galvin Restaurants

Senior judges
Sue Jones - The Harrow at Little Bedwyn
Hamish Anderson - Tate Catering
Charles Pashby-Taylor - Dabbous
Sara Bachiorri - Chez Bruce
Olivier Gasselin - Hakkasan Group
Andrés Ituarte - Coq d'Argent
Rebecca Coates - Wine Consultant
Andre Luis Martins - Cavalry & Guards Club
Carlos Ferreira - The Sign of the Don
Matthieu Longuère MS - Le Cordon Bleu London
Charlie Young - Vinoteca
Christopher Delalonde MS - Bleeding Heart Group
Diana Rollan - Hakkasan Group
James Fryer - Portland Restaurant
Jonathan Giffrin - Claude Bosi @ Bibendum
Julien Sahut - Sexy Fish
Maurizio Palomba - Sushi Samba /Duck & Waffle
Raphael Thierry - Street XO
Tobias Brauweiler MS - Sake No Hana


Adam Michocki - Chez Bruce
Agustin Trapero - Avenue
Alessandro de Angelis - Jamavar
Andrea Cotichella - Wernher Restaurant at Luton Hoo Hotel Golf & Spa
Antoine Cabre - Spring restaurant
Antonio Cuadros - The Don Restaurant
Arnaud Fiol - The Don Restaurant
Benoît Poulain - Adam's Restaurant
Chantal Serrano - Tamarind of Mayfair
Charles Van Wyk - FJB Hotels
Corin Ireland - Restaurant Sat Bains with Rooms
Cosimo Di Totero - Sexy Fish
Cristian Sanchez - Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Damien Trinckquel - Galvin Brasserie de Luxe Edinburgh
Dan Cohen - Cépages Wine Bistro
Daniele Di Blasio - Pollen Street Social
Dario Barbato - Individual Restaurants
Dominique Raclin - Loire Vélo Nature
Federico Forte - Plateau
Francisco Macedo - Bovey Castle
Fred Marti - Typing Room
Frédéric Billet - Luton Hoo Hotel Golf & Spa
Gabriel Liotta - Hakkasan Hanway Place
Gaetano Giangaspero - Coya Mayfair
Geoffray Bénat - Cépages Wine Bistro
Gergely Barsi Szabó - Sager + Wilde
Giancarlo Cuccuru - The Ned Hotel
Giuseppe Longobardi - The 3A Pub Company
Guillaume Mahaut - ETM Group
Harry Crowther - M Wine Store
Immacolata Cannavo - Hakkasan Dubai
Ivan Ruiz - Wright Brothers
J Corey Evans - St Swithins Wine Shippers
Jacopo Mazzeo - The Pig Hotel (Brockenhurst)
Jacopo Armenio - Vinarius
James Hocking - The Vineyard Group
Jose Luis Hernandez - Hakkasan Hanway Place
Kelvin McCabe - Yauatcha
Laure Patry - Jason Atherton Group
Luciana Girotto-Beckett - Macellaio RC
Marcin Oziebly - The Wild Rabbit
Marek Rakowski - Harbour Heights Hotel
Masahito Suzuki - Sosharu
Mattia Mazzi - Lutyens
Mattin Larraburu - Sexy Fish
Michael Fiducia - Coworth Park Ascot
Michael Moore - The London Cookhouse
Mike Best - WSET On trade interaction
Neil Tabraham - Paris House
Piotr Artur Tomaszewski - Buddha Bar
Richard Allen - Adam's Restaurant
Richard Brooks - Caroline Catering
Robert Mason - Cheese at Leadenhall
Rustem Mingaleev - Bovey Castle
Scott Levy - Smith & Wollensky
Sebastian Agnello - The Don Restaurant
Simon Cassina - Winexponent
Stamatis Iseris - The Strathearn at The Gleneagles Hotel
Stefan Kobald - Jason Atherton Group
Sue Jones - The Harrow at Little Bedwyn
Sumi Sarma - Sumilier
Sunaina Sethi - JKS Restaurants
Tamas Nemeth - Bread Street Kitchen
Tanguy Martin - La Trompette
Tanya Mann - Linden House Stansted
Tim McLaughlin-Green - Sommelier's Choice
Timothy Connor - Bread Street Kitchen
Tony Denis - Mosimann's
Xabier Alvarez - Trangallán
Yohann Pinol - Wiltons